Gavins Point Dam
Photo courtesy of South Dakota State Historical Society

     Changes to the Missouri River began with a new law. It was the Flood Control Act of 1944. The Army Corps of Engineers then constructed five dams between 1946 and 1969. It was called the Pick-Sloan project. Four of the dams are in South Dakota. They are Oahe, Big Bend, Fort Randall, and Gavins Point. The Oahe Dam is north of Pierre. It takes its name from the Oahe Mission. Big Bend Dam is near Chamberlain. The town of Pickstown hosts Fort Randall Dam. The Gavins Point Dam is outside Yankton. You can see it in the picture above. The fifth dam is in North Dakota.